Choice and Transparency

Choice and Transparency

XXRIDE enables users to access and control the data that XXRIDE collects, including through:

  • In-app settings
  • Device permissions
  • In-app ratings pages
  • Marketing opt-outs

XXRIDE also enables users to request access to or copies of their data, changes or updates to their accounts, deletion of their accounts, or that XXRIDE restrict its processing of user personal data.

 

  1. Privacy settings

Settings menus in the XXRIDE app for riders give them the ability to set or update their location-sharing preferences and their preferences for receiving mobile notifications from XXRIDE. Information about these settings, how to set or change these settings, and the effect of turning off these settings is described below.

  • Location data

XXRIDE uses riders’ device location services to make it easier to get a ride whenever they need one. Location data helps improve our services, including pickups, navigation, and customer support.

Riders may enable or disallow XXRIDE to collect location data from their mobile devices through the Settings > Privacy menus in the XXRIDE app. Riders and delivery recipients can enable or disallow such collections through the settings on their mobile device.

  • Share Live Location (riders)

Riders who have enabled XXRIDE to collect location data from their mobile device may also enable XXRIDE to share their location with their driver from the time the ride is requested to the start of the trip. This can help improve pickups for both drivers and riders, particularly in crowded areas.

Riders may enable or disable this feature through the Settings > Privacy menus in the XXRIDE app.

  • Emergency Data Sharing (riders)

Riders who have enabled XXRIDE to collect location data from their mobile device may also enable the Emergency Data Sharing feature that shares data with emergency police, fire, and ambulance services. Such data includes approximate location at the time the emergency call was placed; the car’s make, model, colour, and license plate information; the rider’s name and phone number; pickup and drop-off locations; and the driver’s name.

Riders may enable or disable this feature through the Settings > Privacy menus or the Safety Centre in the XXRIDE app.

  • Notifications: account and trip updates

XXRIDE provides users with trip status notifications and updates related to activity on their account. These notifications are a necessary part of using the XXRIDE app and cannot be disabled. However, users may choose the method by which they receive these notifications through the Settings > Privacy menus in the XXRIDE app.

  • Notifications: discounts and news

Users may enable XXRIDE to send push notifications about discounts and news from XXRIDE. Push notifications may be enabled or disabled through the Settings > Privacy menus in the XXRIDE app.

  1. Device permissions

Most mobile device platforms (iOS, Android, etc.) have defined certain types of device data that apps cannot access without the device owner’s permission, and these platforms have different methods for how that permission can be obtained. iOS devices notify users the first time the XXRIDE app requests permission to access certain types of data and gives users the option to grant or refuse permission. Android devices notify users of the permissions that the XXRIDE app seeks before their first use of the app, and use of the app constitutes a grant of such permission.

  1. Ratings look-up

After every trip, drivers and riders are able to rate each other. An average of those ratings is associated with a user’s account and is displayed to other users for whom they provide or receive services. For example, rider ratings are available to drivers from whom they request transportation, and driver ratings are available to their riders.

This 2-way system holds everyone accountable for their behaviour. Accountability helps create a respectful, safe environment for drivers and riders. Riders can see their average rating in the main menu of the XXRIDE app. Drivers can see their average rating after tapping their profile photo in the XXRIDE Driver app.

  1. Marketing opt-outs

Users may opt out of receiving promotional emails from XXRIDE. Users may also opt out of receiving emails and other messages from XXRIDE by following the unsubscribe instructions in those messages. We may still send users who have opted out non-promotional communications, such as receipts for rides or information about their account.

 

  1. User data requests

XXRIDE provides users with a variety of ways to learn about, control, and submit questions and comments about XXRIDE’s handling of their data.

  • Accessing data: Users can ask for an explanation of the data we collect from them and how we use it.
  • Receiving data: Users can ask for a copy of data that XXRIDE collects from them with their consent or as necessary to provide our services.
  • Changing or updating data: Users can edit the name, phone number, email address, payment method, and photo associated with their account through the Settings menu in XXRIDE’s apps or driver portal. They may also ask that XXRIDE change or update their data, including if they believe such data is inaccurate or incomplete.
  • Deleting data: Users may request deletion of their account at any time through the Settings > Privacy menus in the XXRIDE app, or through XXRIDE’s website.
  • Objections, restrictions, and complaints: Users may request that we stop using all or some of their personal data, or that we limit our use of their data. XXRIDE may continue to process data after such objection or request to the extent required or permitted by law.

In addition, depending on their location, users may have the right to file a complaint relating to XXRIDE’s handling of their personal data with the data protection authority in their country.